Reflections on the Beginning of the Semester

Posted: 23 Jpm1000000pmMon, 28 Jan 2013 12:46:47 -060013 2013 in Reflections
Tags: , ,

Exploring the Emotional Workload of an Optimistic College Senior
As I begin this mid-Senior year semester, I find myself thinking of how difficult, albeit rewarding, the last few years have been. I have a strong feeling of apprehension. I have returned to college after a long military career and the change of professional focus has been invigorating.

One of the aspects of this course that I find exciting is the opportunity to build a personal media website. I also look forward to fine-tuning my skills as an editor of video and audio files. I am enthusiastic about re-learning Photoshop and Final Cut Pro.

A major challenge that I anticipate this semester is an issue of time management. With a family and many other outside responsibilities, this will be one of my most difficult semesters, time-wise. Another challenge will be learning not to be a micro-manager when it comes to group work, although I find it less stressful allowing others to gain ownership of our projects.

A strategy I have for overcoming these challenges is to perform most work as it is assigned and fully engage my portions of any group work responsibilities.

This course relates to my intended career in the fact that most journalists/videographers need to be able to produce, interview, edit, and upload their work on a deadline. I am presently completing these types of tasks for NowCastSA.org

I end by acknowledging the awesome opportunity I have been afforded by attending such a distinguished institution as St. Mary’s University. By being able to learn under the tutelage of Brother Dennis Bautista and many of the other fine professors, I feel I will be better equipped to be a thriving, productive member of the communications field.

Comments are closed.